The Forbus General Store was built by W. M. Johnson in 1892, and was operated by Johnson until his death in 1941. At one time, the store included a gas-powered gristmill, a blacksmith shop, and several granaries, but only the store stands today. The store purchased produce and furs from local residents, and at one point had a contract to supply locally-grown apples to a Pennsylvania brandy maker. The store in turn sold hardware, clothing, fertilizer and feed, school textbooks, guns, furniture, and caskets. The store’s top floor was once used as a meeting place for an Independent Order of Odd Fellows lodge. The Forbus post office operated out of the store until 1965, and consolidated with the Pall Mall post office in 1972
The General Store Offers US made crafts, Watkins products, cooking utensils, moccasins, tourist items, wicker baskets and unique gifts. Specializing in homemade fudge and plate lunches. The store also hosts the nationally renowned “Pig Tournament”, a card game that is growing in popularity. For more information contact Forbus General Store at (931) 879-5427.